Miss. Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Movie Review!

Image result for miss peregrine's home for peculiar children movie

I saw this movie like 2 weeks ago, but anyway, there are my thoughts on this book to movie! Enjoy my rambling because that’s what this is!


Image result for miss peregrine's home for peculiar children movie emma and olive

After seeing the trailers for this I was so confused why Emma and Olive were switched. Like it makes nooo sense at all. It’s okay thought I’m over it.

In case you didn’t know, these peculiar children exist with different abilities and they live in time loops taken care of these human women who can turn into birds. In this case, our ymbryne is Miss. Peregrine. The evil monsters are called hollows and they’re peculiars gone wrong basically. The hollows need to hunt down the peculiar children to eat their eyes and turn back into a semi-human form.

Image result for miss peregrine's home for peculiar children movie hollow

How gross is that?! ^^^

I did love how faithful the movie was to the book actually and how it captured the feeling of it so well. Like I don’t know what jealous Enoch is doing but that’s a whole other thing. The fact that Enoch has a thing for Olive?? Who has fire powers which is still weird for me.

Image result for miss peregrine's home for peculiar children movie enoch

Also, at the end of the movie, when we saw the peregrine flying I was like aha! That’s not Miss. Peregrine, that’s her brother! But then the bird turned into Miss. Peregrine and I was like dang it, they’re only making it one movie?? To me it doesn’t seem like there will be more movies which also doesn’t make sense because I feel like this trilogy could have done great under Tim Burton as a franchise.

Overall I really liked it! If I were to rate the movie like I normally rate my books, solid 4 out of 5 stars. Good job Tim Burton!

Speaking of books I’ve read one this month so far. Still. I’ve been reading the Crooked Kingdom for two solid weeks and have made no progress. Thank you school and #IB.

Thanks for reading this review. Honestly I kind of just word vomited because this is my blog and I can do what I want jk. Ugh I’m so overwhelmed with school and stuff. Anyways, thanks for reading!

-Calliope ❀

5 thoughts on “Miss. Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Movie Review!

  1. I read that the movie was written in such a way that they could do a sequel if it was successful enough, but if it wasn’t, the movie could stand alone without leaving the audiences hanging.

    Was Enoch jealous, because he liked Emma, I’m a little curious?

    Like

Don't be shy, share your thoughts!

