February 2017 Wrap Up

a-guide-to-canva-1

Hello! Late February wrap up you might have noticed, but better late than never! I’m just so busy with school!

Anyway, I read 7 books this month which isn’t that bad, though I try to read between 8 and 10 a month.

First up I read the Shadow Queen by C.J. Redwine

Image result for the shadow queen by cj redwine

I thought this book was okay. The main character had the same name as the mom from Gilmore Girls, Lorelai, and I think that’s my favorite part. I just couldn’t really click or care about any of the characters or the romance.

I also read the Great Gatsby for school 

Image result for the great gatsby

I quite liked this book, I think I gave it 4 stars on goodreads, more like a 4.5 for me though. You know how in school when you read a book on your own outside of class and are expected to annotate it? Yeah well no one reads it and if they do they don’t annotate and it annoys me that my teacher this year doesn’t check for annotations cause I’m doing this extra work for nothing.

I re-read the second and third Captive Prince books

Image result for captive prince trilogy Image result for captive prince trilogy

I read this trilogy last year and decided to cheat on my reading challenge a bit by re-reading them because they’re so short.

I read my Not So Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella and Wayfarer, book 2 of the passenger duology by Alexandra Bracken and By Your Side by Kasie West

Image result for my not so perfect life sophie kinsella Image result for wayfarer by alexandra bracken Image result for by your side by kasie west

I really enjoyed My Not So Perfect Life! Sometimes with Sophie’s books I get annoyed with the main character but Katie was a great character.

Wayfarer for me was soooo slow the first half, but right after that it picked right up and I started getting really into it.

By Your Side was one of Kasie West’s usual contemporaries but this one lacked a bit I think because I felt that so much more could have been done with that library plotline. I also was unconvinced about the anxiety that the main character had throughout the book.


How was your month of reading? Link me up to your Wrap Up and I’ll be sure to check it out!

Right now I’m reading book 3 in the Darker Shade of Magic Trilogy, a Conjuring of Light and it’s really great so far! I’m about halfway through.

Stay awesome Sassenachs!-Calliope Fraser

12 thoughts on “February 2017 Wrap Up

  1. Analee @ Book Snacks says:

    I’ve been meaning to pick up Wayfarer, but never got around to it. Should really do that! And so many people are talking about By Your Side’s wasted potential. I was looking forward to that library plot! It’s too bad it wasn’t used as well as it could’ve been. And I am so glad you’re enjoying A Conjuring of Light! I loved it so so much. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ravenblake99 says:

    I loved captive trilogy! Have you read the novella yet? By Your Side turned out to be a disappointment for me too! I didn’t enjoyed Passenger so I know wayfarer wouldn’t work out for me because I hate slow pace reads. Hope you have a great month in March! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    Glad to hear that you enjoyed My Not So Perfect Life! I saw it at the bookstore yesterday and thought about getting it but remembered that I usually get annoyed by Kinsella’s protagonists… I’m glad to hear that Katie didn’t annoy you and I might give the book a chance eventually.

    Have a wonderful March! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sarah says:

    All of these books are on my TBR! Good that you enjoyed all of them for the most part! Ikr the annotation thing bothers me too! I haven’t read the Great Gatsby yet, but honestly I am terrible at reading classics. I’ve read To Kill A Mockingbird, The Book Thief (that kind of counts?) and a few more that I forget lol. (I swear I’ve read more!)

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, share your thoughts!

