Shades of Magic by V.E. Schwab Trilogy Review!

Image result for shades of magic trilogy

This is going to be a spoiler free review for this amazing trilogy that I loved so very much!

The Plot: 

I loved how unique and wonderful this trilogy was! The first few chapters of book one, A Darker Shade of Magic, were a bit confusing because ya know, beginning of a fantasy can often be puzzling. But I plowed through and was so glad I did! I think I gave book one a 4 star rating, and then books two and three 5 star ratings each.

The Characters:

I fell in love with all of the characters in this trilogy, good and bad. The evil characters were so deliciously evil and the side characters were so lovable, and then the main characters were so amazing! I liked how though there was romance in this trilogy, it wasn’t the main focus. The romance was sprinkled in pretty heavily though and I couldn’t help but predict and ship characters!

The Covers:

I loved the red and the black on the covers, because in the books red and black are the opposing forces basically. The red and black especially popped on beige/nude neutral backgrounds. After staring at the covers for a bit I also realized that there were quite a few details after reading each book that you realize suddenly make sense.

Verdict:

Yes yes yes! LGBTQ representation in a delicious adult high fantasy! Also such great characters that had flaws and messed up for real human reasons.

My Rating:

Overall 5 stars trilogy! I can’t wait to read Vicious, one of V.E. Schwab’s other books. I must say, I did like these books a lot more than the other books by her that I’ve read, geared towards young adults, the archived duology.


Aaand that was my quick sort of attempt at a review, I haven’t done one in a while

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts on this trilogy below!

Also thank you soooooo much for 500 followers! This is surreal, I love you all so much ❤

Stay awesome Sassenachs!-Calliope Fraser

P.S. Sorry for my inactivity in the blog world! School is whooping my behind really bad right now. I’m just so busy! I took my first real SAT over the weekend and all of my IA’s are becoming suddenly due and now EE’s are starting and the TOK presentation and it’s just aghhh stressful! Anyhoo, the only thing keeping me sane these days is blogging, writing, and reading honestly

2 thoughts on “Shades of Magic by V.E. Schwab Trilogy Review!

Don't be shy, share your thoughts!

