Outlander Books 1 and 2 Review/Discussion!

 

Hooray, Voyager (Book 3) just got checked out to me on live-brary so now I can finally read book 3!!! But anyway, here are my thoughts on the first two books of the Outlander series!


Outlander Page Number: 896

Dragonfly in Amber Page Number:

Format Read: E-book (Live-brary borrowed)


Goodreads Outlander Synopsis:

The year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is just back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach—an “outlander”—in a Scotland torn by war and raiding border clans in the year of Our Lord…1743.

Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire is catapulted into the intrigues of lairds and spies that may threaten her life, and shatter her heart. For here James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, shows her a love so absolute that Claire becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire—and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives.

Goodreads Dragonfly in Amber Synopsis:

For nearly twenty years Claire Randall has kept her secrets. But now she is returning with her grown daughter to Scotland’s majestic mist-shrouded hills. Here Claire plans to reveal a truth as stunning as the events that gave it birth: about the mystery of an ancient circle of standing stones… about a love that transcends the boundaries of time… and about Jamie Fraser, a Scottish warrior whose gallantry once drew a young Claire from the security of her century to the dangers of his.

Now a legacy of blood and desire will test her beautiful copper-haired daughter, Brianna, as Claire’s spellbinding journey of self-discovery continues in the intrigue-ridden Paris court of Charles Stuart… in a race to thwart a doomed Highlands uprising… and in a desperate fight to save both the child and the man she loves.

My Thoughts:

I did definitely enjoy Outlander more than Dragonfly in Amber, (I’m just going to call it DiA)

But let’s discuss Outlander first!

The first few chapters were a little boring and I nearly stopped reading, (legitimately the story of my life, first chapters are always boring and the rest of the books is amazing, hmmm…possible discussion post??)

Having had a basic outline from watching bits of the tv show on YouTube, I dived into this book with high expectations that were all met amazingly.

The characters are so real and since I knew about the TV show first, I already pictured Catriona and Sam as Claire and Jamie so I knew exactly how the characters looked.

I loved how Claire in the beginning when she saw he was wounded, she wouldn’t leave him alone and was so bossy and I loved it!

Claire grasped the situation fairly quickly, and for that I was grateful because I did not want to spend half of the book with Claire being confused. I love how headstrong she is and how she doesn’t take crap from anyone.

Minor Spoilery Section:

The bit of trouble I had was the spanking part, because I really hate when that happens in books and movies, but I suppose this was the 1700’s and beating your wife for disobeying you was the norm. Still doesn’t make me feel any more comfortable about it.

I loved the age difference between Jamie and Claire and on their wedding night how she had to explain to him how to have sex! I still can’t get over how innocent Jamie really was despite being “so good looking” and having kissed a lot of girls.

Diana Gabaldon is a genius with the vaccination scar = witch, thing! Genius!

Can we just discuss how creepy it must be for Claire to have to hate a man (Jack) who looks just like one she loves (Frank)

Claire and Jamie’s relationship is beautiful and I was so scared at the end of this book for them, but it was all ok in the end. The ending was amazing and though I saw a confrontation with Jack coming, it ended up being nothing how I thought it would be!


Now Dragonfly in Amber!

I thought this book, pacing wise was a little dragging. It was a big book mind you, and nothing should have been left out, I just thought some parts were a little unnecessary and about halfway through I had to take a break for a few hours. (I read while driving to Florida)

I don’t have much to say about this one except it was great, and that freaking cliffhanger killed me!! Now that this review is up, I’m going to run and read Voyager, and it better not disappoint me.

See, normally I would rant right here about the cliffhanger, but it’s all good, I’ve already gotten it out of my system because upon finishing DiA, I rushed off to talk to Dee from The Bookish Khaleesi and I sort of ranted at her because she recently posted her own review of Dragonfly in Amber so I was happy to get my feels out there.


Verdict:

Outlander was a great start to an amazing journey of a series and Dragonfly in Amber continued that making me very excited for the next installment!

Diana Gabaldon is clearly the master at endings and cliffhangers, but those beginning chapters were so slow for me! (Probably because I’m so eager to read Claire and Jamie that I can’t stand anything but). 😉

Rating:

Outlander: 5 stars

Dragonfly in Amber: 4.5 stars


And that is all! Please, share your thoughts on Outlander and DiA! Did you love them as much as you wanted to? How is the TV show!?? I can’t wait to binge season one over February break once my midterms are all over!!!

Stockholm

P.S. Jamie is my home screen wallpaper right now, and Claire and Jamie are my lock screen. I think I have found my newest obession.

 

6 thoughts on “Outlander Books 1 and 2 Review/Discussion!

  1. HAHAHAH Calliope! Jame is my screensaver too!!!! I am so obsessed!
    Well you know my thoughts and we pretty much share the same ones!
    I hated the spanking part as well and all the rape, but just have to remember that it was the norm back then even if I hate it.
    But the end scene with Black Jack and Jamie. Oh god I still get sick to my stomach and can’t even watch the scene on the tv show!

    Great review Calliope! I need to read Voyager too!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, share your thoughts!