When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon // Book Review!

Image result for when dimple met rishi

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Publication Date: May 30th, 2017

Page Number: 380 pages

Format Read: E-book (Live-brary borrowed)


Synopsis:

This book is a contemporary about Dimple Shah who has just graduated from high school and has gotten into Stanford. Her parents are Indian and Dimple thinks that all they care about is find her the “ideal Indian husband”. When Dimple goes to a summer program called Insomnia Con she meets Rishi Patel, who is there because his parents and Dimple’s parents have set him up with her, but Dimple doesn’t know yet. The book follows Dimple and Rishi during their time at Insomnia Con and navigating through their parents matchmaking schemes.

My Thoughts:

I gave this book a 3.5 star rating because I didn’t find anything majorly wrong with it. I enjoyed it a lot but it didn’t particularly make me FEEL anything which is usually why I give books 5 stars. I just didn’t feel much emotion or extreme feelings or anything like that.

Some of the things I liked:

I liked how the book focused on Dimple and Rishi’s Indian background, and it was interesting learning about a different culture. I also liked the feminism and how independent and strong Dimple was.

It confused me so much that Rishi would go to Insomnia Con just for Dimple, he’s such a romantic, it was actually adorable. Rishi and Dimple were so cute together and though I wasn’t screaming for them to get together I did like their romance.

Insomnia Con also reminded me of a summer journalism program I did last summer with the bonding and dorms and friends made so it made me nostalgic.

Some of the things I didn’t like:

There were a lot of stereotypes with the other characters at Insomnia Con and I was surprised that there wasn’t closure at the end. I was expecting one of the girls who was part of the group that basically cheated to win to come forward and confess what the boys did, but that never happened. We also never learned the results of what happened from Dimple talking to her idol who said she’d talk to the board about the winners and their possible cheating.

Finals thoughts?

I don’t have much else to say about this book, it was good, but kind of plain. If it didn’t have the cool Indian culture aspect it could honestly be a flop of a Kasie West book, no offense. I liked the cute romance but I didn’t feel strongly about any of the characters in particular.

Verdict:

I liked it! It was cute but not exactly wow factorish which is how I like my YA contemporaries. There needs to be some kind of gasp worthy or extreme cuteness for me to give a YA contemporary a 5 star rating. I am excited to see what else Sandhya Menon writes though!

I will definitely read whatever she writes next!

My Rating:

3.5 stars (4 stars on Goodreads)


Have you read this book? What did you think? Let’s chat!

-Calliope

9 thoughts on “When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon // Book Review!

  1. So far I had only read really positive things about this book, so it’s refreshing to read about your experience! It’s a shame that there were stereotypes in this book :/ Really didn’t expect that. Glad to hear you still enjoyed it though! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review!
    I have a lot of the same feelings towards this book, but unfortunately I had to DNF this because I was really hyped over the Indian culture, which began to fizzle out by page 50, and I actually disliked Dimple in a way that I have never disliked a character before.

    For me, the teen drama aspect at insomnia con seemed quite petty and unnecessary?? I think that it could have been a really cute contemporary if it wasn’t included.

    But yes, Rich was a really sweet, romantic character and by far my favourite aspect to the book!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, share your thoughts!

