Mirror Me by Tara St. Pierre // Release Day Review!

35528218

Mirror Me by Tara St. Pierre

Publication Date: July 25th, 2017

Page Number: 223

*I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review


Hello everyone! Tara St. Pierre was kind enough to send me an ARC of her newest book, Mirror Me! I also have a review of Tara’s other book, Just a Few Inches, you can click here to read it!

Today is also the day that Mirror Me is being released, so go order your copy!

Synopsis:

So this book is about a senior in high school named Hannah who moved schools and houses for her senior year. Her mother is very strict and keeps Hannah on lock-down practically over something that happened the year before with Hannah’s best friend Nikki. Hannah starts seeing things wrong with her reflection and can’t stand to look at herself in a mirror. When strange things start to happen and Hannah is blamed, Hannah needs to figure out what’s happening, if it’s all in her head or there’s someone out to get her. 

My Thoughts:

I really liked this book! At first I wasn’t sure what the angle was going to be, if Hannah was going to have multiple personality disorder or some mental problem and the book would be about that, but I was very happy with the ending and how the story turned out.

I really understood where Hannah’s mom was coming from in the book and being very overprotective, but still I just wanted them to hug it out and resolve their issues!

I loved Hannah’s best friends and how despite the few problems at first, they eventually did stick by Hannah and believe her.

While I understood why the strange events that Hannah was blamed for happened to help create the story and plot, I did feel that some of the things done were a little extreme, even if it was just to push Hannah to forgive herself. I was so genuinely angry when poor Hannah had to take the blame for things she didn’t do, I was like NO it’s not her fault!!!

And then when her friends, Cole and her mom were affected I felt so bad for Hannah. I also had a lot of fun guessing what was wrong with Hannah’s reflection and why it was bothering Hannah.

I can’t say much about Nikki because that would spoil what the big event was that caused Hannah to move, but I did like the resolution at the end and the patching up the tears that were created with Hannah’s friends, Cole and mom.

I was also fascinated with the whole mirror concept and what the mirrors lighting up meant and what it meant when they were dark.

Verdict:

Overall a strange and mysterious plot line that is satisfying in the end and keeps you guessing as to what’s happening, why it’s happening, and how things will ever be resolved.

My Rating:

4 out of 5 stars!


Thanks for reading!

Have you read this book?! Do you want to? Let’s chat!

-Calliope

2 thoughts on “Mirror Me by Tara St. Pierre // Release Day Review!

Don't be shy, share your thoughts!

