The Bold Type // Pilot Review

Image result for the bold type

The Bold Type

The Bold Type is a new show on FreeForm and focuses on three girls who work at Scarlet, a fashion magazine. It airs every Tuesday, taking the spot of Pretty Little Liars.

I watched the first episode and felt kind of fuzzy afterwards. Being a journalist is a career path, one of many for me, that I could picture myself in. Basically, the show follows my dream job.

I loved all of the characters and how the show didn’t shy away from and wasn’t scared to talk about real things that women deal with.

While I did love the pilot, the thing that I realized is that it’s a bit unrealistic. Sure the show is very cute and I’m going to definitely continue watching. There’s feminism, diversity, sexuality representation and hot relationships! Hello yes please!

Image result for the bold typeΒ Image result for the bold type

Despite all of those positives, the girls, one of them who is still an assistant, all wear these fashionable outfits and hairstyles that make me totally jealous. And as I was feeling jealous I realized that it’s not realistic, no assistant in a journalism office looks like a well put together celebrity that could walk down a fashion runway. (Maybe I’m exaggerating a bit).

It’s also New York City, which costs a ridiculous amount of money to live in a nice part of. As newbie journalists, these girls are living the life let me tell you. Also one of the girls is the social media director after working there for only two years I think.

I definitely am fascinated with the journalism world and do I want to be these girls half the time while watching? Of course! But I will be watching this show with some reservations, just so I don’t get my hopes up that this is how the job field in NYC journalism really is.

And also it’s not like the Bold Type is a how to guide to becoming a journalist, it’s a drama comedy about three girls who work at a magazine. If it was realistic, it would be boring and sad if I’m being honest, because the girls wouldn’t have moved up so quickly at Scarlet or live in nice apartments by themselves.

Image result for the bold type

Final thoughts?

I liked the pilot and will be watching more! I’m just going to live my high school journalist dreams through the Bold Type from now on! I loved the feminism and female power in the show! I also love all the chemistry between the characters and that the boss lady wasn’t the scary evil boss and actually more of a mother figure to the girls!


Have you watched the Bold Type? What do you think?

-Calliope

Don't be shy, share your thoughts!

