April 2017 Wrap Up!

Predict My Life In Books Tag!

I read a grand total of 7 books this month, that’s just cause I read a lot during April break though. I’m still way behind on my goodreads challenge and school is still whipping my behind. Good thing IB tests have started, yeck, I’m probably not going to get any reading done in May.

Anyway, let’s get into it!


Firstly I read A Totally Awkward Love Story by Tom Ellen and Lucy Ivison.

Image result for a totally awkward love story

I thought that this book, while cute, had way too much unrealistic teen drama going on. I’m a teenager myself and sometimes I read books about people my age and have to squint a bit because wow things are different from other parts of the world. Maybe this book was typical for British teens in the 90’s but it seemed a bit too fanatical for me and the main character’s decisions annoyed me.


I read two V.E. Schwab books, Vicious and This Savage Song

13638125 23299512

I love Victoria Schwab, she’s just such an amazing fantasy writer! I’m looking forward to reading book 2 of the Monsters of Verity series? Duology? Trilogy? I have no idea but I can’t wait to read it!


I also finished Hamlet for school

Image result for hamlet by shakespeare book

I thought Hamlet was okay. My reaction to Shakespeare’s writing is usually meh. I like the stories he writes but it takes a long time and a lot of effort to understand what they’re about and that makes it difficult to enjoy reading his books.


And then I read Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth, Caraval by Stephanie Garber, and History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

30117284 27883214 Image result for history is all you left me

Yes I know, Carve the Mark has a lot of controversy going around, I’m aware. But it’s also kind of difficult for me to understand why. I don’t really want to get into this, but some of the arguments against this book are that the light skinned people were portrayed as the good guys and the dark skinned as the bad guys. The thing is, both sides had mixed dark and light skinned people so I don’t understand? I guess I can understand the whole white supremacy thing, but there are so many fantasy books with similar themes that no one complains about…

Caraval was an interesting book. I think I liked it, though the ending confuzzled me, and I think that I will be continuing with this series.

History is all you left me was all right. It had a very similar vibe to ‘more happy than not’ and I thought it was a good book but nothing amazing. Gorgeous cover though that really stands out I must say.


How are you all doing on your Goodreads challenges? Lemme know the books you’ve read in April, I’d love to read your April wrap ups!

Stay awesome Sassenachs!-Calliope Fraser

 

2 thoughts on “April 2017 Wrap Up!

  1. For some reason I have no motivation to read Veronica Roth’s new book? I read the Divergent trilogy, I loved the first one but the rest was okay, but I just don’t have any urge to read this one.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, share your thoughts!

