Heartless by Marissa Meyer Book Review

Image result for heartless by marissa meyer

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Page Number: 453

Publisher: Feiwel and Friends

Publication Date: November 8th, 2016

Format Read: Hardcover (Bought)


Goodreads Synopsis:

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries. But for her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for a woman who could be a queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the King’s marriage proposal, she meets handsome and mysterious Jest. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into a secret courtship.

Cath is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

My Thoughts:

Wow I haven’t done a book review in a while, and also I read this one so late, I’ve had it since November…and I still haven’t finished my September birthday bookhaul…yikes

Anyway, I was so excited to read this book because it’s by Marissa Meyer, one of my favorite fantasy writers, and also because the cover and the naked book are both gorgeous. I had so much fun taking pictures of Heartless for my bookstagram!

I love fairy tale retellings especially ones about evil queens before they became evil! I must say the story went in a different direction than I thought!

For one, Catherine was such a sweet girl I could not see her as the Queen we know from the other stories until the end really and even then it wasn’t that convincing.

Another thing was the king of Hearts. He was such an idiot I was so surprised that his people let him rule. I was so sure Catherine was going to marry him and then poison him basically. How Hearts managed to survive with such an idiot as their King I don’t know.

I also think that Catherine’s rage at the end wasn’t as convincing. I don’t know, Marissa Meyer is a great writer, but I feel like something was missing at the end of this book.

I don’t know if it will be a series or not, but I would be open to reading more!

So now time for the gushing! I was so compelled by this book that I ditched midterm studying! Jkjk. Well not really…anyway, I just wanted to not sleep or study and just keep reading because I wanted to know what happened next so badly!

I loved Cath and Jest they were so cute I wished there were more moments with them together! Also Cath’s baking fantasy was so nice, though I wonder how she got into that considering she’s part of the nobility.

Also her rage at Mary Ann, oh my, that was necessary.

I really want a hat from Hatta that will make me smart and good at school and doing well in physics to be honest…

Verdict:

A very fun and addicting retelling! Marissa Meyer is just so great at them fairy tale retellings!

My Rating:

4 out of 5 stars


Have you read this book? What did you think? 

Stay awesome Sassenachs!-Calliope Fraser

3 thoughts on “Heartless by Marissa Meyer Book Review

Don't be shy, share your thoughts!

