#growinguprussian // Childhood Cartoons

Prostokvashino

So my parents came to America from the Soviet Union as it was breaking up and I was born a few years later, so my childhood was a little different from the normal American.

I didn’t speak English until I was 4, and I was nearly put in the English as a second language program in elementary school because my English was that bad.

And now English is my favorite subject in school and I can barely speak Russian…it’s hard to hold onto a language when no one around you really speaks it except your parents, and not even then because my youngest brother doesn’t speak anything but English.

So these are some of the cartoons that I love and grew up on!


 

Nu Pogodi was the best show ever. It’s about this wolf who wants to eat this rabbit, but the rabbit always escapes so the wolf always says at the end of the episode, Nu Pogodi, translated it kind of means, wait up, but it’s basically like the wolf is saying just you wait rabbit. Now that I think of it, it’s very similar to Tom and Jerry.


 

Cheburashka! It’s about this cute little animal named Cheburashka who meets a lonely crocodile named Gena and then there’s this old lady Shapoklyak who is kind of like the villain who tries to thwart their adventures together. There’s this amazing birthday song that came out of this, if you search cheburshka birthday song on youtube you could probably find it.


  

Karlson! This is a hilarious cartoon about this man who can fly with this fan thing on his back, and his tagline is Karlson who lives on the roof. It’s really funny because this young boy gets this grouchy babysitter and Karlson keeps tricking her.


 

In English it’s translated to the Bremen Town Musicians I think. This is a great cartoon with a lot of memorable songs and I know there’s one song with one lyric that whenever it comes on my entire family sings it in a very loud and obnoxious voice.


 

Of course Russian Vinni Puh needs to make this list. It’s basically Winnie the Pooh but in Russian.


A lot of these shows I watched on VHS, but now we have a CD with a bunch of them that my six year brother watches, even though he doesn’t speak any Russian, he can understand a bit.

38 Papagai

 

It scares me that one day I might forget my language entirely, and that my children will probably never be able to speak Russian. I have a bunch of cousins who are really little though that live in an extremely Russian populated area about an hour from me, so they’ll probably marry Russian and carry it on, which brings me some relief I guess.


And that is all for today! Are there any Russian speakers reading? Did I miss any good ones? 

Stay awesome Sassenachs!-Calliope Fraser

P.s. Would you want to see more posts like this, about the different foods we have when we go over to my grandpa’s house and Russian restaurants and other stuff? 

3 thoughts on “#growinguprussian // Childhood Cartoons

Don't be shy, share your thoughts!

