Captive Prince by C.S. Pacat Trilogy Review

  

One change that I’ve done to my blog has been to change its tagline ‘YA Books and General’. I’ve done this mainly because I’ve changed. I no longer exclusively read YA, and I’ve started reviewing more and more NA and Adult, so I am no longer a YA only blog 🙂

For those of you who don’t know, this is a fantasy romance, that is for the mature readers. Personally, I found it fine in terms of content, if you could read Outlander, you could probably handle the Captive Prince Trilogy.

In short, Captive Prince is about a prince who lives in this fantasy world and is betrayed by his brother and sent as a slave to the neighboring enemy kingdom.

My Thoughts:

*Spoilery* (THIS WILL BE A MINOR SPOILERY REVIEW SO PLEASE READ AT YOUR OWN RISK) 

Honestly, I loved this story so much and my only problem was that it ended too quickly! Book 1 was so short, and so were books 2 and 3. It could have just been combined into one book, or left the same with more of Laurent and Damen 😉

Oh my gawsh, the chemistry radiating off Damen and Laurent was goals!!! Every character was brought to life, Laurent the most. I really did sort of hate him in the beginning but as the trilogy progressed I somehow started to ship it.

The whole whipping scene really bothered me, because it was reminiscent of Outlander. But in Outlander Jamie hates his scars with a passion, while Damen doesn’t? Damen’s reaction to the scars makes it seem like they’re not so bad, but the fact that he was nearly killed by the lashes that formed them makes me doubt that.

Ok, also, the fact that Laurent knew THE ENTIRE TIME who Damen was and still let his brother’s killer have sex with him!

Oh yeah, and also, at the end of book 3 when it all came full circle with both of them having killed each other’s brothers and living with it.

Can I also just say something? Drunk Laurent is the best thing in the world. I want to read an entire book of just Laurent drunk. (Actually, by the end of book 3, he doesn’t have to be drunk to love Damen anymore, so you know what, I just want another book in general!)

Verdict:

Oh my god I loved it and can there PLEASE be more!? I’ve not had enough of Laurent and Damen.

Like, I really didn’t think that the mature stuff in this trilogy was that bad, unless it’s just me getting used to the adult genre…

My Rating:

5 out of 5 stars! I think this is the first book, besides Animal Farm for school, that I’ve rated 5 stars this year 🙂


Aaand that is all!

Have you read this book!? What did you think? Let’s discuss!

Stay awesome Sassenachs!-Calliope Fraser

One thought on “Captive Prince by C.S. Pacat Trilogy Review

Don't be shy, share your thoughts!

