Air Awakens by Elise Kova Review/Discussion

Many thanks to YA Bound Book Tours for sending me a review copy of Air Awakens because I absolutely loved it! I just placed an order of Fire Falling at the library and am excited to start reading that next!


Air Awakens by Elise Kova 

Pages: 279 (E-book version)

Publication Date: August 27th, 2015

Publisher: Silver Wing Press

Format Read: E-book (Review Copy)


Goodreads Synopsis:

A library apprentice, a sorcerer prince, and an unbreakable magic bond…

The Solaris Empire is one conquest away from uniting the continent, and the rare elemental magic sleeping in seventeen-year-old library apprentice Vhalla Yarl could shift the tides of war.

Vhalla has always been taught to fear the Tower of Sorcerers, a mysterious magic society, and has been happy in her quiet world of books. But after she unknowingly saves the life of one of the most powerful sorcerers of them all—the Crown Prince Aldrik—she finds herself enticed into his world. Now she must decide her future: Embrace her sorcery and leave the life she’s known, or eradicate her magic and remain as she’s always been. And with powerful forces lurking in the shadows, Vhalla’s indecision could cost her more than she ever imagined.

My Thoughts:

I don’t know if it was just me, but Air Awakens reminded me a lot of The Wrath and the Dawn. Both books just had a very similar feel and a similar male love interest.

I loved this book a lot, and was hooked by the first page. I even read it during Spanish class because I needed to know what happened next so badly. (Sorry not sorry)

I’m sure everyone at school thought I was a weirdo for reading and walking at the same time, but you’ll be surprised to hear that you only get judged for reading and walking at the same time if it’s a physical book; with e-books everyone just thinks you’re on your phone

But anyways, I was surprised at the amount of violence in this and how much our poor protagonist Vhalla got injured, and usually it was severely.

I related so much to Vhalla with her love of books. When Aldrik said to her that you can’t live through books I was so mad because duh, that’s my life right there. But I think I was partly mad at that because it was sort of true. There’s a real world out there besides my fictional ones as much as I hate to admit it.

I really just loved all of the characters and how well they were fleshed out. Especially the two brothers.


I did have two minor problems with this book, but they in no way affected my enjoyment of the book and were just general.

1. I really hate this line in books: ‘I heard screaming and it took a few seconds for me to realize that it was me.’ That was paraphrased from Air Awakens, but I’ve seen this line so many times now that I find that it’s over cliched and annoying. Like ok, maybe you couldn’t hear your own scream, but how many times have I read this line in YA?

2. Why must a protagonist that is female have to cut her long hair to show loss. She can still be a kick ass warrior that has experienced loss with long hair. The cutting of the hair trope it getting annoying as well, but that’s just me.


A Minor Spoilery Section:

I really hated Prince Aldrik in the beginning. He just pissed me off with how annoying he was. Like when he grabbed Vhalla’s chin and forced it upward I was like NO! We happened to have a sub in AP World when I was reading it, so my friend Jem had to endure me complaining about Aldrik and if he’s supposed to be the love interest and how I don’t like him.

But I did ship it by the middle of the book, and I absolutely love Aldrik now.

I also felt kind of bad for Sareem, I mean, tough break for the guy, but come on, that reaction when Vhalla showed him her magic was a big no.

And I also felt that Egmun was simply there to be the antagonist. Like he just came out of nowhere and accused Vhalla of trying to kill Aldrik.

Anyways, I’ve heard there are going to be quite a few books in this series, and I’m excited to read more!

Verdict: 

A new and exciting world for me that holds a lot of promise! I can’t wait to know more about Vhalla’s story!

My Rating:

4.5 out of 5 stars


Have you read this book!? I know I’m a little late to hop on the train for this one, but what did you think?

Stay awesome Sassenachs!-Calliope Fraser

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Air Awakens by Elise Kova Review/Discussion

Don't be shy, share your thoughts!

