Daughter of Deep Silence Review/Discussion

So I saw Christine from Polandbananasbooks do this awesome revenge video in order to hype this book up and I kind of mentally added it to my tbr. Then Ari @ the Daydreaming Bookworm was talking about it on her blog and I was intrigued again, planning to read it in the future.

Then lo and behold, I was very bored on line in Disney and none of the books I wanted to read were available on live-brary but Daughter of Deep Silence was so I quickly downloaded it…and read it!


Daughter of Deep Silence by Carrie Ryan

Publisher: Dutton Books for Young Readers

Publication Date: May 26th, 2015

Page Number: 375

Format Read: E-book (Live-brary Borrowed)


 Goodreads Synopsis:

I’m the daughter of murdered parents.
I’m the friend of a dead girl.
I’m the lover of my enemy.
And I will have my revenge.
 
In the wake of the devastating destruction of the luxury yacht Persephone, just three souls remain to tell its story—and two of them are lying. Only Frances Mace knows the terrifying truth, and she’ll stop at nothing to avenge the murders of everyone she held dear. Even if it means taking down the boy she loves and possibly losing herself in the process.
 
Sharp and incisive, Daughter of Deep Silence by bestselling author Carrie Ryan is a deliciously smart revenge thriller that examines perceptions of identity, love, and the lengths to which one girl is willing to go when she thinks she has nothing to lose.

My Thoughts:

Very different from what I usually read and not what I was expecting at all. Frances/Libby, what do I even call her? She was very hard to connect to. I mean, yes, I get it, her parents were murdered right in front of her, but spending four years planning revenge? A little obsessive if you ask me, but I don’t really know what I would do in that situation to be quite honest.

Oh yeah, another thing that I had a problem with was, did it matter whether Frances was herself or Libby? Either way she’s the only other survivor of the cruise ship and either way the Senator and Thoms would be looking for her, I don’t understand what being Libby did for her, other than Cecil and not being an orphan.

Gray didn’t have a right to be mad at Frances later because hello? He’s been lying this whole time too!

My favorite character by far has to be Shephard! I felt so bad for the guy when he realized that his “girlfriend” was dead after he spent 4 years thinking she was alive and ignoring him.

The writing during some scenes, especially the fake rescuing Gray’s mom kind of felt childish and something that I would write during an action/spy scene. (Cause I’m bad at those see?)

Gray was so adorable too but still didn’t have a right to be mad. I was sad that we didn’t see more Cecil/Frances bonding, that would have been nice.

Also, when Frances uses her phone to record their conversation, she does realize that she could have just voice recorded them? She didn’t need to go through all of that trouble of calling and voicemail. I just found it funny how she’s going through all of that to just record their conversation when there are special apps for that.

I loved how on the cruise ship flashbacks we see how Gray at first saw Libby and then fell in love with plain Frances. Gives some hope for us plain girls 😉

Also, that epilogue that was not an epilogue! We don’t even see Shephard and how he’s doing.

I’m also kind of interested to know if Gray and Frances ever get together, I hope so, but you never know…


Verdict:

Promising plot that turns into confusion. However, others may still enjoy this book;  it just didn’t work for me.

Rating:

3.5 stars


How about you? Have you read this book? Do you have similar thoughts? Different? Leave a comment below so we can discuss! I don’t mind if you disagree with me, it’s all opinion anyways 😉

Stockholm

8 thoughts on “Daughter of Deep Silence Review/Discussion

Don't be shy, share your thoughts!

