Winter by Marissa Meyer- Book Review/Discussion

So i read Winter…and i wasn’t that impressed. I read Cinder and Scarlet right before Cress came out, so i was able to read those three one after the other. Winter though i had to wait almost a year for, and i had such high expectations and hopes, but no.

I mean, it was a good book, it just wasn’t great. What is wrong with me?


Winter by Marissa Meyer

 Page Number: 827
Publisher: Feiwel and Friends
Publication Date: November 10th, 2015
Format Read: Hardcover (Bought)
cropped-text-here.jpg

 Goodreads Synopsis:

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

cropped-text-here.jpg

My Thoughts:

There was something missing from this book…and i can’t figure out what it was.

Anyway, Thorne was my favorite character by far in this book, he just eased the tension with his humor.

Winter was a lunatic that i loved 😉

And Scarlet was a badass wolf leader basically.

There was not enough kissing in this book! I did not get hit with enough feels, that’s what is was! To absolutely love a book, my feelings need to erupt, and sadly, they did not!

I wanted each couple to have some time on their own and properly make out or something. There was not enough cutesy otp moments.

My favorite line has to be when Thorne announces that he’s starting a missing fingers club with Scarlet, and Cinder can be an honorary member.

Yeah, jeez, Marissa Meyer likes cutting people’s fingers off!

I love how Winter calls everyone their name and then friend, giving her that weird whimsical atmosphere. Scarlet friend and Cinder friend cracked me up each time.

How could Cinder trust Levana so easily at the end!? Levana would never ever ever bow down to Cinder!

Also, i feel kind of cheated with the ending. There is no epilogue and we don’t see the aftermath of anything.

Spoilery Discussion:

So basically Cinder is going to be Queen for like 5 months and then abdicate to make it a republic, and leave who exactly to be president or whatever? Who is going to be the government after Cinder leaves? Not the upper class who were just under Levana’s rule.

It should have been two books, one with taking down Levana, and then one with the aftermath. Agh

So after that Cinder is just going to marry Kai? And become an empress? And still be the most famous queen of Luna? Won’t that be weird when there is tension between Luna and Earth?

So many questions! And i want some answers!

I want to see Wolf scaring the neighbors children and Scarlet and Wolf’s relationship a bit more!

I liked how Cinder was about Cinder and Kai, Scarlet was about Scarlet and Wolf with a bit of Cinder, then Cress was all three and phenomenal, but Winter has too many characters and POV’s to properly enjoy all four OTP’s.

I loved how Winter was able to get the wolf mutants on her side, and how the whole Snow White fairy tale played out with contracting letumosis  and Jacin waking her up with that kiss.

I wanted to shoot Aimery so badly, he was such a dick! He basically hated Winter but wanted her anyway!? That’s messed up!

Oh my, the kiss between Thorne and Cress was adorable, but it was cut short! And the fact that the lunar girl made herself look like Cress and Thorne told her he loved her! Aww, even though both Cress and myself had no idea what was going on, how cute!

cropped-text-here.jpg

Verdict:

Too much ‘stuff’ in one book. I did not get to spend proper time with my couples! This one did not unfortunately hit me in the feels. I did though enjoy the fairy tale aspect of Snow White, Levana’s unwavering cruelty, and Thorne’s witty humor.

Oh! Iko! I forgot to mention Iko! I ship Iko and Kinney! Anyone else!?

Oh yes, and also, guys, guess what! Broken isn’t the same as unfixable! Did you know that!?

My Rating:

3.9 out of 5 stars. I really wanted to love it, but i didn’t 😦 It was simply a good book. Not amazing. (I’m such a weirdo with my ratings sometimes, like who gives .9!???)


So yes, that is it for today! Please share your thoughts, were you as disappointed, or did you absolutely love it?

Who else ships Kinney and Iko!? I love them together!

I probably missed some things, so let’s discuss in the comments!

Thanks so much for reading!

Stockholm

P.S. Ugh, NHD (National History Day) is killing me. My school makes us do this history project and it’s the biggest pain in the butt for everyone since 7th grade and ugh, just ugh. And literally, we’re like one of the only schools in our county to do it. No one’s even heard of NHD in the other schools

2 thoughts on “Winter by Marissa Meyer- Book Review/Discussion

  1. I read Winter and I loved it. I agree that the POVs becomes a bit distracting, but otherwise it worked for me. I do think it worked really well with the Snow White thing (you know what.. i never connected the letumosis with the Snow White, but you’re absolutely right). I thought there was a good amount of kissing. Considering they were busy running a revolution, it made sense there wasn’t going to be a lot of time for.. um.. canoodling. Thorne is amazing but Kai is my favourite, and I thought the ending was good. I gave it 5 stars. Thank you for sharing your thoughts though, you brought up some good points!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ooh, I know, the snow white thing was crafted so well by Marissa Meyer. I love a sense of humor and funny characters who make me laugh, so that’s why thorne appeals to me 😉 the ending just made me want more because I had so many questions afterwards!

      Like

Don't be shy, share your thoughts!

