My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick- Book Review and Discussion!

Hey, i’ve noticed that when i take notes on a book, i see plot twists and things sooner than before.

So anyways, i read this amazing contemporary, and i loved it!!!

Synopsis: (From Goodreads)

“One thing my mother never knew, and would disapprove of most of all, was that I watched the Garretts. All the time.”

The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, messy, affectionate. And every day from her rooftop perch, Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs up next to her and changes everything.

As the two fall fiercely for each other, stumbling through the awkwardness and awesomeness of first love, Jase’s family embraces Samantha – even as she keeps him a secret from her own. Then something unthinkable happens, and the bottom drops out of Samantha’s world. She’s suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself?

A transporting debut about family, friendship, first romance, and how to be true to one person you love without betraying another.


My Thoughts:

Aww, this book was so cute and adorable and i loved it so much! I loved that the main character, Sam, is rich, but she’s humble about it, like you wouldn’t know she was rich from her attitude or anything like that.

So i have this SAT Question of the Day App, and one of the vocab words was hodgepodge, i remember this because i was laughing mentally at the ridiculousness of the word, and then i see it in this book, and i’m like whoa, it’s an actual thing!

I loved all of the characters and how unique each one was, and Tim was one of absolute faves, and he made me laugh a bit, not like aloud, but in my head. I laughed in my head guys, that makes sense, right?

I felt like the pacing of the book was off, the beginning was a good pace, then it slowed down, then picked back up, then slowed down until the end. Hmm…

I felt like the ending was kind of meh as well…


Verdict:

An easy contemporary read for more mature readers because there is sex, though not explicit by any means!!! 4 out of 5 stars i think.


Spoilery Discussion: (A rambling discussion that might not necessarily be chronological, sorry!) 

I just knew there would be an accident from the moment Sam started to fall asleep, and just everything pointed towards that happening. At first i thought Clay somehow arranged Mr. Garrett to be walking there because Clay was the one who told Grace which road to take…

I hated Nan’s actions and words, but for some reason, i couldn’t disagree with her necessarily, and i can totally relate to her. I mean, i don’t cheat and i don’t have a brother like Tim, but out of Sam and Nan, i’m more like Nan…except i don’t have a boyfriend and will not be having sex, or almost having sex in two years when i am their age.

I typed into my phone ‘i fucking hate Clay’, and auto-correct changed it to ‘i ducking hate Clay’, *sighs*

Urgh, i hated that Sam had to break up with Jase! And i also kept thinking of Jace from the Mortal Instruments too.

I wanted to punch Clay so badly in this book!!! And her mom at times too!

I don’t know, it’s just mighty convenient that a hot and mysterious boy lives next door, that’s not how it works usually.

My neighbors are definitely not like that…no offense, though i kind of did mean offense.

You practically saw the accident coming because there was no problem going on in the characters’ lives.


Yay, so that’s this book reviewed! Next up is Confessions of a Shopaholic, so stay tuned for that one so you can see why i disliked the book ;(

Share your thoughts in the comments below! Did i miss anything that you want talk about?

Thanks for reading!

-Calliope (5)

P.S. I cannot get the song Wecome to the Black Parade by My Chemical Romance, oh, and Teenagers also!!!

4 thoughts on “My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick- Book Review and Discussion!

Don't be shy, share your thoughts!

