Sophie Kinsella Book Reviews (I’ve Got Your Number, Wedding Night, Can You Keep a Secret?)

Hello there! I’ve recently read quite a few of Sophie Kinsella’s books, so instead of reviewing them each individually, i thought i would talk about the three i just read in one post.


I’ve Got Your Number

12033455

Ok, so this book is an Adult book technically, (they all are) but i found it super easy to read as a teenager, and a ‘Young Adult’ book type of reader.

This book was great! I loved it! Let’s just jump right in!

Summary:

So this girl named Poppy loses her expensive engagement ring, and tell the hotel staff to call her cell phone number if they find it. But then she gets mugged, and her phone gets taken, and so when she sees a phone sitting in the trash, she decides that ‘finders keepers’ and gives the hotel staff her ‘new’ number. When the head of the company whose phone Poppy, ‘borrowed’ calls her, she begs to keep the phone for a few days, and he agrees, only if she forwards all of the emails and texts to him. Of course though, Poppy can’t help but ‘accidentally read’ some of these texts and emails…

My Thoughts:

Aww, i loved this book! It was cute and funny and lovely! Poppy is such a fun, and funny main character, and yes, there is a difference! šŸ˜‰ Sam was interesting to get to know, and i loved watching both Sam and Poppy grow as people and characters, helping each other along the way. The book also made me laugh a few times, which i usually don’t do.

Verdict:

Yes! I loved this this book! More than Remember Me? for sure. 5 out of 5 stars!


Wedding Night

17910611

Wedding night was just a ball of laughs, honestly! The characters were so fun, and i was laughing out loud again.

My favorite scene was the one where Fliss was on the phone with Lottie after having sex with Lorcan, and Lorcan overheard her talking about ‘how small it was’. Fliss and and Lottie were talking about a wedding, but you can guess what Lorcan thought Fliss was talking about! ;D

Summary:

Lottie thought she was going to get engaged to Richard, but he never had any intention of proposing…she when her ex boyfriend from 15 years ago sporadically proposes to her, she says yes. Lottie’s sister Fliss is going through a divorce herself, and so believing that Lottie made the wrong choice, Fliss tries to stop the wedding at all costs. Shenanigans ensues.

My Thoughts:

It was very fast paced and slightly predictable…but that was ok with me. I wanted to punch Fliss’s ex husband Daniel soooo many times! I found that Fliss and Lorcan got together real fast. This surprised me, because this usually doesn’t happen in YA (the female protagonist gets together with her love interest right away), and though it was surprising, i think that i liked how fast it was. I couldn’t believe the lengths Nick went through to stop Lottie and Ben, it was hilarious, and slightly worrisome! This book was slightly less enjoyable than I’ve Got Your Number, but nevertheless, it was still great!

Verdict:

Loved it! 5 out of 5 stars! A quick read that leaves you with a slight moral, but is more about the fun and laughs.


Can You Keep a Secret?

33724

Summary:

Emma is scared of planes, so when turbulence hits when she’s on one, she finds herself blurting all of her secrets to the man sitting next to her. Secrets about her boyfriend, her friends, her daily life…and her job. She expects to never see the man again after that embarrassing situation, but she does see him again…and he turns out to be the owner of the company she works for. Dun dun dun!!!!

My Thoughts:

I really loved this book in the beginning, it was going great! Emma is a great character with a lot of personality, and someone you can really relate to. I think the ending felt totally rushed, and it was cliche and predictable and i didn’t like it. Once again, boy and girl have spark, they get together, boy does something to ruin it, girl can’t forgive him, boy persuades her, happily ever after, the end. Ugh! I don’t know, it just did’t sit very well with me.

Verdict:

Solid 4 out of 5 stars. I enjoyed the book a lot, the ending just killed me!


I’m so very excited to read more Sophie Kinsella books! Which one should i read next? Let me know in the comments!

Thanks for reading!

-Calliope

5 thoughts on “Sophie Kinsella Book Reviews (I’ve Got Your Number, Wedding Night, Can You Keep a Secret?)

  1. I’ve read Can You Keep A Secret and the book was so hilarious the moment I read the first page.Emma was such a riot. I kind of got bored towards the end because honestly I wasn’t that into the romance..I would just read Emma’s thoughts and her hilarious moments. I have both Wedding Night and I’ve Got Your Number and knowing Sophie Kinsella I’m sure it will be funny. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, share your thoughts!

