The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

sky_375w

Today i will be reviewing ‘The Sky is Everywhere’ by Jandy Nelson. This is my second Jandy Nelson book, having previously read her book, ‘I’ll Give You the Sun’, which was a really good book.

I have to say that i liked ‘I’ll Give You the Sun’ better, nevertheless, I’d give ‘The Sky is Everywhere’ a 4 out of 5 stars.

Jandy Nelson’s books seem to always have some kind of death or depression, really hot and amazing boys, and some kind of horrible death the protagonists must overcome.

Summary: Lennie Walker’s older sister suddenly dies, and she takes on a sort of depression state, pushing everyone away from her. Her sister’s boyfriend also faces challenges, and they share their grief together…romantically. New boy in town Joe though, catches her eye, and sparks fly. It’s sort of a love triangle, but not really.


My review/thoughts: (Spoilers) Lennie was such a frustrating character mostly because of her actions, or rather lack of. When she refused to challenge Rachel for first chair in the beginning, ugh! And then i felt like she didn’t try hard enough to fight for Joe later. Also, she never visited Bailey’s grave. And then Toby. I was not ok with her and Toby, that was just wrong. And Lennie was also selfish, she wasn’t the only one who had lost someone. Gram lost her daughter, and then she lost her second daughter Bailey. And when Lennie was pushing Sarah away…

I loved Joe Fontaine. He collected her poems! The ones she wrote and dropped all over the place. I loved how he was described as this continuous smiling boy that just brought life to the Walker house and family.

The Lennie tree was interesting, and i liked how Lennie got rid of it.

I loved the relationship between Joe and his brothers. And when Lennie wore the dress to their house, their reactions were perfect.

Sooner or later, Joe was going to catch Toby and Lennie, so i saw that it was coming, maybe not in that moment, but every time they kissed, i was expecting Joe to walk in on them.

Ok, Bailey was pregnant! And engaged! How could she not tell her sister!


So that’s pretty much it for my thoughts. I hope Jandy Nelson writes another book soon. Did you know that ‘I’ll Give You the Sun’ won the Pulitzer Prize? And it won the award after i read it. 😉

Thanks for reading! Next up will be my reviews for ‘None of the Above’ by I.W. Gregorio, and ‘The Queen of the Tearling’ by Erika Johansen.

I want to do a few more book related tags that can be done in writing…

Anyway, i’ll see you in the next one!

-Calliope

Don't be shy, share your thoughts!

