The Ring and the Crown

Hello! Since i last posted an update, i have finished Girl of Nightmares by Kendare Blake. I must say that i was a little disappointed by it, and it took me forever to finish it.

I have also read Bramblestar’s Storm by Erin Hunter. Basically my book childhood was the Warriors Series, so naturally i just had to read the latest special edition.

I read the Maybe Not novella by Colleen Hoover. Maybe Not is the novella companion to Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover, and it has a lot of sex scenes, so if you don’t like those, don’t read this novella. 😉

I read All Fall Down by Ally Carter. This was a strange book, and i can’t decide if i liked it or not. Ally Carter wrote the Gallagher Academy and Heist Society books. All Fall Down is about this girl named Grace who is sure her mother was murdered, but everyone keeps calling her crazy. Her grandfather is an ambassador and the book takes place in Embassy Row, the place where all of the world’s Embassies are located.

I also read the Graceling Trilogy, again, strange series. They’re about this world where people who have different color eyes have powers and are called Gracelings. I like Bitterblue, the third book, the best, then Graceling, then Fire was my least favorite.

I also just finished The Ring and the Crown by Melissa de la Cruz. I though it was ok.

I haven’t read too many great books lately. Just good. I want a book to just wow me, because all i’m getting right now is ehh, it’s ok.

Ok, so the Ring and the Crown.

Synopsis: Princess Marie of England is engaged to Prince Leo of Prussia, who was formally engaged to Isabelle of Orleans. Then a bunch of crazy stuff happens. This is a horrible synopsis. Ooh, watch the book trailer on YouTube, it’s one of the rare good book trailers.

Spoilery Thoughts: I didn’t really connect with any of the characters, female wise. I guess Ronan? Though not really. I found the beginning ok, and then everything in the end was just a wow. Also, there was no happy ending, what is that? I’m not sure if it was the writing style that i had a problem with, as i have never read another one of Melissa de la Cruz’s books.

Ok, that’s it for today, stay tuned for my next post which will be my thoughts on the book to movie things going on. (Selection and Shadowhunter things)

Thanks for reading!

-Calliope

Posted in: YA

Don't be shy, share your thoughts!

